nagging cough after recent lung lobe resection- I'm a non-smoker - 1270511

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
janwoodward
nagging cough after recent lung lobe resection- I'm a non-smoker - 1270511

Hi There,
This is my first time ever on anything like this...
I wondered if anyone else has had constant coughing after VATS lung resection?
A quick history about me - I am a Never- Smoker.
They found this lung nodule incidentally on a CT scan when I had my second Pulmonary Embolism.
It is almost 4 weeks now since I had a lower left lobe resection.
I was dx with adenocarcinoma 1A and thankfully my lymph nodes are clear.
But really overall I'm doing pretty good - I just can't stop coughing..... the surgeon is aware and gave me rx for these little gold pills - they don't help.....
Jan

catdander
Hi Jan and welcome to Grace.

Hi Jan and welcome to Grace. So glad to know you're out some time from surgery and doing well except for the cough (which I don't mean to minimalism). Are the little gold pills tesslon pearls (benzonatate)? They are easily taken with little to no side effects but only work for some people and always worth a try. Let the surgeon know they aren't working so you can move on for results. A cough is one of the top reasons all people seek help from physicians. Here is a blog post from one of our faculty on the subject. I don't have cancer but about 3 years ago I caught pertussis and a lingering sometimes nasty cough remains that is very difficult to manage. I still hope to come across a fix for mine and hope yours is just a matter of healing, 4 weeks isn't really all that long. http://cancergrace.org/cancer-treatments/2009/05/09/managing-cough/

Janine

janwoodward
Janine,

Janine,
Thank you so much for your response. I also read the informative post you recommended – I appreciate that too...
I'm sorry to here you have had a cough for so long. I do hope you find relief some day.