Do I need to control my body weight now? - 1257858

tracey59

Dear Dr. West:

I have read your post on weight loss of cancer patients, but my current situation is a bit different. I was diagnosed state IV adenocarcinoma (exon 19 deletion) in July 2012 and has been on Iressa since then as my first-line treatment. My six tumours significantly shrank in the first two months (from July to August) while I lost 6 kg in that two months, which is 10% of my body weight. However from August to now the tumours have shown minimal changes; while the CEA has been gone up from 6.7 to 11.3 from April to June, I have regained all the 6 kgs and in fact added another 1.4 kg, so my BMI is reaching the top margin of the normal range now.

I had been controlling my diet and body weight for more than three decades and seldon touched desert or ice-cream prior to my diagnosis; however after having cancer I have been eating quite a bit of these food as I feel that I don't have much time left, and this change might have contributed to my weight increase. My question is: given that eventually cancer patients will experience weight loss, shall I keep my current diet until I cannot enjoy food as I can now, or shall I control my body weight as overweight and too much sugar will not be good for cancer patients?

Many thanks for your advice in advance.

Best wishes,

Tracey

56 Asian female never smoker, IV NSCLC diagnosed on 01.07.2012; On Iressa since 07/07/2012.

Forums

Dr West